VWBPE 2023: Uncommon Realities

March 23-25, 2023

VWBPE 2023 Thinkerer Award

Help recognize the best and brightest of our community
by nominating those people who have given so much
and asked for so little in return.

The Thinkerer Award is an educational leadership award presented annually to an individual whose deeds and actions have shown consistent selfless service towards the promotion of learning, community, and educational practices, and who exemplifies the spirit of cooperative development within immersive environments.

The award recognises lifetime achievement in community development and leadership rather than a single contribution.

Recipients of this award are not simply outstanding professionals in their field. Award recipients must embody transformational leadership qualities necessary to:

  • lead by example in building communities dedicated to lifelong learning;
  • envision and guide change in others;
  • enhance the motivation, morale, and performance of both peers and pupils;
  • promote best practices and continuous improvement within their communities; and
  • inspire others through their words and actions.

The Thinkerer Award is presented in honor of Dr. Selby Evans, Professor of Psychology at Texas Christian University in Fort Worth, Texas from 1964-1990, specializing in research design, statistics, and computer applications. Dr. Evans, our first Thinkerer Award recipient, has been an inspiration to many within the field of immersive environments and continues to this day to inspire, guide, and enhance opportunities for change-seeking educators to meet, collaborate, and experiment. Other past recipients are honored in the VWBPE Archives.

If you know of someone who deserves to be recognized for their contribution to the field of education and immersive environments, please submit them as a nominee for the 2023 Thinkerer Award. Nominations will be open Monday, December 1, 2022 until Tuesday, January 31, 2023.

Visit this page for nomination criteria and the submission form.

Final selection of the award recipient will be conducted by the VWBPE Organizational Committee by Sunday, February 12, 2023 and will be announced publicly during the conference closing ceremonies on Saturday, March 25, 2023.

Thinkerer Award

Click Here to Nominate

Call for Proposals!

Click Here to Start

Past VWBPE Thinkerer Award Honorees

Thinkerer Melville/Selby Evans, 2014

Selby Evans
(SL: Thinkerer Melville)

Barbara Truman
(SL: Delightful Doowangle)

Gentle Heron/Alice Krueger, 2015

Alice Krueger
(SL: Gentle Heron)

Renne Emiko Brock / Zinnia Zauber

Renne Emiko Brock
(SL: Zinnia Zauber)

Spiff Whitfield/Andrew Wheelock, 2016

Andrew Wheelock
(SL: Spiff Whitfield)

Thinkerer Melville/Selby Evans, 2014

Lynne Berrett
(SL: Wisdomseeker)

Thinkerer Award Recipient, 2017

Cynthia Calongne
(SL: Lyr Lobo)

Doris Molero - 2022

Doris Molero
(SL: Pionia Destiny)

Valerie Hill
(SL: VALibrarian Gregg)

VWBPE 2023 Thinkerer

2023 Thinkerer
(SL: )

Join Our Mailing List!


01 December 2022: Thinkerer Award Nominations Open
09 January 2023: Presentation Proposals Deadline
31 January 2023: Thinkerer Award Nominations Close
13 February 2023: Exhibit Proposals Deadline
13 February 2023: Immersive Experiences Proposals Deadline
23 March 2023: VWBPE 2023 Conference Opens

* Play * Explore * Engage * Immerse * Learn *

VWBPE Official Logo